Prevent usage of Update All button

Prevent usage of Update All button

Chocolatey GUI has always had the ability to run the equivalent of the choco upgrade all command, via the Update All button. However, there are times when you want to provide finer grain control of what packages are being updated at any given time. As such, this feature allowing removal of the Update All button from the Chocolatey GUI user interface.

By default, the Update All button will be shown:

Show the update all button in the Chocolatey GUI UI

however, once this feature is enabled, it will no longer be shown

Show the update all button removed in the Chocolatey GUI UI

📝 NOTE

This is a Chocolatey for Business feature, and will require install of the Chocolatey GUI Licensed Extension.

⚠️ WARNING

In order for this change to take effect, it will be necessary to close and re-open Chocolatey GUI.

Resources

Below is a short video which shows this feature in action:

📝 NOTE

Coming soon

Example

This feature can be enabled, for the currently logged in user, by running the following command:

chocolateyguicli feature enable --name="'PreventUsageOfUpdateAllButton'"

This feature can be disabled, for the currently logged in user, by running the following command:

chocolateyguicli feature disable --name="'PreventUsageOfUpdateAllButton'"

Or, to enable/disable it globally at the machine level, run the following commands:

chocolateyguicli feature enable --name="'PreventUsageOfUpdateAllButton'" --global

chocolateyguicli feature disable --name="'PreventUsageOfUpdateAllButton'" --global

Default Value

The default value for this feature is disabled.

Availability

The ability to control this feature from the Chocolatey GUI Settings screen has existed since Chocolatey GUI v0.19.0.

The ability to control this feature from the command line using chocolateyguicli has existed since Chocolatey GUI v0.19.0.